Restrict user access - BuildBee Support

Restrict user access


To use groups and permissions features, you must be on an enterprise level subscription.
It's unfortunate, but sometimes you may have to restrict a users access to certain features for one reason or another. However, this method may also be used to temporarily restrict access, for example, a certain time period. You are able to set your site up to restrict access to printers or certain printer functions using group rights.


Step 1 - Turn off all global user rights

- Select the enterprise tools icon from the top of the screen

BuildBee enterprise tools

- On the dashboard screen, select the 'groups' icon from the side:

BuildBee groups and permissions


- Make sure you have all switches turned off in the global rights section as shown below:

BuildBee global rights

- Select 'UPDATE GLOBAL RIGHTS' to save your changes. You will be taken back to the groups and permissions page.


Step 2 - Create groups for temporary access

- Create groups for users that you want to grant temporary access to. See 'Recommended group structures' for more information.

BuildBee groups

- Create a temporary access group with the desired rights applied and disable the group until you want to give those users access:


BuildBee group enable


Step 3 - Remove problem users from groups

- Delete the user from ALL groups they are a part of.

A user will still be able to access a printer if another group grants them that right. 

BuildBee delete user

For information on restricting access to individual printers, see Restrict access to individual printers.