To use groups and permissions features, you must be on an enterprise level subscription.You may want to restrict group access to certain printers for one reason or another. You can also use this method to temporarily grant access to printers, for example, within a certain time period. You are able to set your groups up to restrict or grant access to certain printers using group rights.
Step 1 - Turn off all global user rights
- Select the enterprise tools icon from the top of the screen
- On the dashboard screen, select the 'groups' icon from the side:
- Make sure you have all switches turned off in the global rights section as shown below:
- Select 'UPDATE GLOBAL RIGHTS' to save your changes. You will be taken back to the groups and permissions page.
Step 2 - Edit/add a group
- From the group's screen, select the group you wish to edit. If a suitable group does not exist, create a new group.
- Select the pencil 'edit' icon to enter edit mode for that group.
- Further down the page you will find the tabs 'USERS' and 'PRINTERS' and a large 'plus' icon along with users/printers within that group (if any).
Step 3 - Add/delete printers
- Select the 'PRINTERS' tab to add or delete printers from the group you are editing.
- Select the large 'plus' icon to add printers that you want your users to access.
- Select printers from the left column labelled 'Unselected' to grant access to them. Leave out the ones you wish to restrict access to. If you make a mistake, you can select them on the right hand column to remove them from your selection.
- Select the 'ADD SELECTED TO GROUP' button to confirm your selection and return to the group page.
- If you need to remove access to printers for the users within a group, delete them by selecting the red 'minus' icon next to that printer.
Step 4 - Add/delete users
- Select the 'USERS' tab to add or delete users from the group you are editing.
- Select the large 'plus' icon to add users that you want to grant access to.
- Select users from the left column labelled 'Unselected' to grant access to them. Leave out the ones you wish to restrict access to. If you make a mistake, you can select them on the right hand column to remove them from your selection.
- Select the 'ADD SELECTED TO GROUP' button to confirm your selection and return to the group page.
- If you need to restrict access for the users, delete them from a group by selecting the red 'minus' icon next to that user.

A user will still be able to access a printer if another group grants them that right.
Step 5 - Save your changes
- Once you're happy with the changes you've made, scroll back to the top of the screen and select 'SAVE'.

If you don't select 'SAVE', any changes to users and/or printers you made will be lost.
